Shares
EstateGuru Review (December 2019 Update)

EstateGuru Review (December 2019 Update)

Last Update: / by Marco Schwartz

In order to diversify my investments, I regularly invest on new platforms that I then review so you too can invest on them & feel confident in doing so. 

In this article, I will review the real estate crowdfunding investment platform EstateGuru, that I got to know by reading out it on real estate crowdfunding blogs, but also directly heard about it via other investors. Therefore, I really wanted to try it out and to add some more property investments to my portfolio.

EstateGuru
My Overall Rating
My Average Yield
11.11%
Investment Protection
What I Liked
Solid returns
Auto-invest function
Secondary market
Projects in several European countries
What I Didn't Like
Limited auto-invest parameters

After over a year of investing on the platform, I have to say that I am really satisfied with EstateGuru. The fact that I can invest in a wide variety of loans with great returns means that after some time it would be like receiving a monthly 'rent' from my investments on the platform. This, combined with the very low default rate of the platform, makes EstateGuru a great platform in my opinion on which I will definitely reinvest in the future. Therefore, I definitely recommend trying out EstateGuru - it's a great way to start a real estate crowdfunding portfolio, or to diversify your existing property portfolio with high-quality short-term property loans. 

What is EstateGuru?

EstateGuru is a European Real Estate Crowdfunding platform based in Estonia, that mainly funds property loans to businesses. As such, all the loans on the platform always come with a property as a guarantee, which makes it very safe for the investors. Note that I usually prefer to invest in equity real estate crowdfunding (where you get a monthly rent from your properties), so I was at first a bit reluctant to invest in property loans. However, the fact that you can easily diversify into many loans will also provide a monthly income at the end and will add more diversification to my portfolio.

So far, they funded over 500 loans, and only had one defaulted loan which is a very good ratio: 

EstateGuru Review (December 2019 Update)

As you can see from the graph, they are continuously growing, and they plan to expand to the UK & to Portugal in the future (currently most of the loans are around the Baltic countries).

Creating an Account & Depositing Money

As for most of the real estate crowdfunding platforms, the first step is to open an account. On EstateGuru, this is very easy and it took me less than 5 minutes to get my account opened.

Once this is done, you can actually add money to your EstateGuru account. I did that via TransferWise, and the money was on my account in 2 days.

As a note here, I now systematically try to also withdraw money on all the platforms that I review, just to make sure there is nothing shady on this side. For EstateGuru, there were no problems at all and I got my money back in 2 days as well.

Browsing Available Deals & Investing

We can now actually browse deals that are available on the platform. As I mentioned before, most of the loans on the platforms are short to medium term property loans, which is great as you will get your money back faster & it's usually a sign of a solid borrower. Note that for all loans, the property is, of course, coming as a guarantee in case the borrower wouldn't pay back. The interests rates on the platform are usually around 11%, which is great for real estate crowdfunding. This is a sample of what was available when I started to invest on the platform:

EstateGuru Review (December 2019 Update)

Then, you can also dive deeper into each loan and get a lot of details concerning the loan:

EstateGuru Review (December 2019 Update)

For some of them, you can even get drone footage of the properties, which I think is pretty cool. On this page, you'll also find information about the borrower, and the exact loan repayment calendar.

The Auto-Invest Function

You could, of course, invest manually into each loan, but this is not what I would recommend on the platform. As the default rate on EstateGuru is really low (0.2% when I invested), it's safe to actually spread all your capital into as many loans as possible. And for that, they have a very handy auto-invest function that is really easy to configure:

EstateGuru Review (December 2019 Update) 

I activated mine with just one parameter: short-term loans only. This will ensure that I invest in the highest quality of loans on the platform, and also that I will get my money back quicker. Note here that the loans on the platform are usually funded very rapidly, so I might raise the 50 Euros cap in the future as currently, I can't get my money invested fast enough.

My Current Results with EstateGuru

Let's now talk about the returns that I got on the platform since I first invested. Those were the first payments that I got back from EstateGuru:

 EstateGuru Review (December 2019 Update)

At the time I've updated this article, it's now been over a year that I started to invest on the platform. I currently only have 1 project that is in the 31-60 days late zone, and no defaults at all. I have invested in over 46 projects so far, so even if this one defaults it shouldn't impact my results too much (thanks for a high diversification of my portfolio via the auto-invest function). My yield is also now estimated at 11.31%, which is completely in line with the projects I invested in on the platform. 

As for all platforms I invest in, I also exported the raw data from EstateGuru and used TrackInvest to plot the actual results from the platform. Here are my gains since I started to invest on the platform:

EstateGuru Review (December 2019 Update)

As you can tell from the graph, after a slow start (as I only got interests back from projects), I got a steady growth of my income on the platform, and then a steep increase of the gains, mostly due to some projects paying back more than expected after they were completed. So I am definitely very satisfied with my returns on EstateGuru.

I will of course update this article when I receive more money from the projects I invested in via EstateGuru.

Verdict: Should You Invest on EstateGuru?

As I mentioned at the start, I usually don't like the idea of invest in property loans when it comes to real estate crowdfunding, as I prefer more 'traditional' investments where I own a part of a property that will give me a monthly income from the rent. However, I have to say that I am really satisfied with EstateGuru. The fact that I can invest in a wide variety of loans with great returns means that after some time it would be like receiving a monthly 'rent' from my investments on the platform. This, combined with the very low default rate of the platform, makes EstateGuru a great platform in my opinion on which I will definitely reinvest in the future.

Therefore, I definitely recommend trying out EstateGuru - it's a great way to start a real estate crowdfunding portfolio, or to diversify your existing property portfolio with high-quality short-term property loans. 

Leave a Comment

Please enter your name.
Please enter your email.
Please enter your comment.
Georg 5 months ago
Are you sure about these default statistics, Marcos? I have just seen a portfolio with 8 default out of 48 loans. Have you really updated this article in 2019?
Reply
Please enter your name.
Please enter your email.
Please enter your comment.
Janne 9 months ago
I just woinder the LTV, what kind of real estate business can tolerate interest ration of more than 50% ?
Reply
Please enter your name.
Please enter your email.
Please enter your comment.
Raffaele a year ago
Thanks Marco for your review! I was wondering if you had prepared also a review of the Lendy platform. I noticed you included it in your portfolio. I registered also, but I found it not so straightforward.. Thanks in advance, Raffaele
Reply
Please enter your name.
Please enter your email.
Please enter your comment.